Geraldine O Beirn

QUB G O Beirn

I am e-resources librarian at Queen’s University Belfast, based in the McClay Library.  I hold a BA (Hons), MSc (Econ) Information and Library Studies and I recently graduated with an MSc E-Learning: Interactive Teaching Technologies.

My current role is to ensure that electronic subscription content and database resources are set up appropriately for access by users. A major part of my role is to manage the electronic resource management (ERM) system, knowledge base of resources, the openURL resolver and the resource discovery platform. As well as this, I ensure authentication to resources using Shibboleth, EZProxy and username/password is maintained. I also coordinate the collection, collation and analysis of usage data about electronic resources using a variety of systems.

In addition to this, and in collaboration with the eresources team, I trouble-shoot any queries received and work is ongoing with the Library Systems Service Desk throughout the year to provide advice, information and assistance to students, academic and support staff where difficulty is encountered using eresources.

I also support any new developments and implement proprietary systems, providing advice and guidance relating to future developments to other user groups. A major responsibility this year has been the selection and customized implementation of the EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) as the preferred discovery service solution for Queen’s University Belfast.

My professional research interests lie in the user experience and how emerging technologies can be used to develop and enhance library support services for users. As part of my MSc E-Learning course I undertook a usability study on the EBSCO Discovery Service which comprised of a task-based observation and post-observation interviews with undergraduate students.

This year my continuing professional development has been enhanced by the successful completion of ITIL Foundation course and joining the newly founded EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) Steering Group.

Leave a Reply

